Adventures in Unemployment

I have been known to be a workaholic. I am not the type of person to spend 50+ hours a week in an office I can’t stand. I love what I do. I want to be doing it all the time. Granted, my job often consists of reading books, doing research on Pinterest, and playing dress up with really pretty people. Yes, I have an amazing job. I also have a job that often leave me out of work for periods of time. As a workaholic, this is not always awesome. There have been times that I have needed the break to take a breath, read a book, or return the many phone calls from my best friend that I have not had time to return. This is not one of those times.

Four months ago, I graduated with my Master’s Degree in Costume Design. After three years in a difficult program, I needed a break. Now, I have taken a breath, read several books, returned those phone calls, taken that weekend trip, watched every show I have been meaning to watch on Netflix, knitted a blanket and done just about every DIY I could find on Pinterest that has interested me. Now I am a workaholic with NOTHING to do.

I am twenty-seven years old, living with my parents, out of work, and officially have become my greatest fear. Now, I have applied to many jobs in my field and some do not start for another month, so I still have hope that I will have a job soon. Meanwhile I feel like a teenager at the end of summer vacation. Can it please be time for me to go back to work. I am trying to see this all as a blessing in disguise. I may not have time off again for a very long time, I should enjoy it while it lasts. But what do you do when you have done everything you can think to do? At least within your financial means…

If anyone has any suggestions, please feel free to send them my way.

Leave a Reply

