Judging Books By Their Covers

Lately I have been doing a lot of reading. I have a good amount of free time on my hands and reading at least feels slightly productive. Since I have read a good deal of the books that have been sitting next to my bed for months, I have been in the market for new books to read. I have a lengthy list of books I want to read, but most of those books are ones I have been putting off for a long time and I have still not mustered up enough interest to read them yet. I find I often need a deadline (movie release date) to read some of these books.

The market is flooded with books. Barnes and Noble is huge and I cannot always figure out where to find what I am looking for. I was at a book fair the other day looking through used books. I didn’t have much time, but I wanted to be sure to look through all the sections in case there was something cool and wonderful hiding between the 20 copies of Twilight. This is when I realized that I believe you can totally judge a book by it’s cover. I can look at the cover of a book and tell in less than 5 seconds if I will like the book. Mostly I walk around checking for the right shade of pink. Too bright means peppy chicklit, to pale means babies. Neither is really my current cup of tea. If there is a couple  in a passionate embrace, I will pass. Movie tie-in cover, pass. Painting done by a long dead artist, totally worth a read.

I think we have been to quick to judge quick judgements. Take this job I was offered last week. I thought I should give it a shot, but my first instincts were right. It was not a good job for me. I would be there right now, knowing that I had made a terrible mistake. A creepy guy you meet in a bar is probably not your future husband. A meeting with a relative stranger anywhere but a well lit and very public place is always a bad idea even if they say they will make you a star (or you met him through an online dating site). A person who contacted you through Craigslist and is coming to look at your apartment or anything in it warrants a friend coming over in case he is a serial killer. Sometimes snap judgements are how we protect ourselves from bad dates, lame books, or ending up the plot of next week’s Law and Order: SVU.

Let’s not be too quick to judge our own judgement. More often than not, your first instinct is the right one.

Leave a Reply

