The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

 

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

This book has been on my list for a while. I had not read it up until now because of the description. I would see the book on some “must read” list and add it to my Goodreads list (a site I highly recommend for anyone who has those moments where you want to read a new book and remember there was a book you wanted to read, but cannot for the life of you remember what that book was). When I went to find a new book to read, I would read the description and usually full on delete it from my list. The book is about a girl with cancer. I hate books about anyone with a terminal illness. I refuse to read them. I don’t enjoy books that I know immediately are going to end badly. No books with terminal illnesses, no books with animals as the title character. I enjoy books that make me laugh and books like these rarely do.

This book made me laugh. It is definitely a book about kids with cancer. There is no denying that. However, the main character is a jaded teen with a sarcastic edge and that makes all the difference. It is a truly heart warming story that is both funny and sad. I am not going to tell you it is all sunshine and rainbows, it isn’t. What it is is a fresh take on a book about cancer. One that, in my opinion, is actually readable. The film starring Shailene Woodley comes out in June, which I will absolutely see and likely love. If you are looking for a new great book, this is quite possibly it. If you are hesitating because it is a book about cancer, I hear you, but assure you, you will not be disappointed.

3 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. Pingback: The Fault in Our Stars | The Adventures of Brittany Kay

  2. Pingback: Just Beachy: Part I | The Adventures of Brittany Kay

  3. Pingback: If I Stay by Gayle Forman | The Adventures of Brittany Kay

Leave a Reply

