Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is one of the most fascinating books I have read in a very long time. I consider myself something of an amateur detective (Meaning that I play a lot of mystery based games, read suspenseful books, and watch detective movies and television shows. I pride myself on being able to solve the mystery long before the creator of the game, book, movie, or television show had intended). Reading this book, I came up with several scenarios as to what happened to Amy (the major female character in the novel), but the truth came to light exactly when Gillian Flynn wrote what had happened.

The novel tells the tale of a husband and wife from their own perspectives in alternating chapters. The wife, Amy, goes missing on the couple’s fifth wedding anniversary. As most cases of missing wives, the husband, Nick, is the prime suspect. I don’t want to say much more because I would hate to ruin even a small piece of the experience of reading this novel for anyone. If you like a good mystery, stories that are mostly shades of grey, and complex characters, this is a must read.

Like the rest of Gillian Flynn’s books I have read so far, this story is dark and twisted. If you don’t like reading stories that will make you uncomfortable, this is not a book for you. If you do, read this immediately.

The film version will be released on October 3rd. Gillian Flynn wrote the screenplay herself and David Fincher directed. The cast is lead by Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike (who you should know if you do not already). My favorite character of the book, Desi, is being played by Neil Patrick Harris. So you can’t beat that. Another fun fact is that the story is set in a town in southern Missouri and the film was shot in Cape Girardeau, not terribly far from where I grew up.

I cannot recommend this book enough. A setting that is familiar (to me), a mystery I could not solve, and a killer team of artists working on the film. Read it. Before October 3rd. Then come talk to me about. You will not regret it.

One thought on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. Pingback: Just Beachy: Part I | The Adventures of Brittany Kay

Leave a Reply

