Happiness Is… Getting Creative

The Happiness Project is a book by Gretchen Rubin that is part memoir, part self-help. She created a plan called The Happiness Project, where she chooses one area of her life each month to improve upon to make herself a happier person. Within each area, she comes up with resolutions (small, attainable goals) to complete each month. I read the book last fall and wrote about it here. I have made multiple attempts to create my own Happiness Project, but have not had much success. I believe I have figured out the issue. Each attempt I have made, I chose to start with health and fitness. It seemed like a good place to start and the resolutions were easily quantifiable (i.e. Drink 8 glasses of water each day, be physically active for 30 minutes each day), however, in retrospect, it’s totally uninspiring.

This time around, I am going to begin with the core of my being: Creativity.

The focus of July is to Get Creative. I am hoping to foster more creativity in my life and expand my creative skills.

So, my goals for July are to

Sketch Daily: I am a visual artist, unfortunately, I do not have great skill when it comes to drawing people (a major flaw as a designer of clothing…) This is a necessity in my career and something I have been working on (more or less) for years. However, it does not feel like art when you have to work at it. I need to work at it. So, I am going to sketch every day in July and hopefully develop the skills I need to have in order to further my career.

Start an Etsy shop: There are a lot of people who have their own Etsy shops. Most of which, do not have a Master’s Degree in sewing (not exactly my degree). These people are making money doing things that I am very good at, and I feel like I should cash in on that. I have no idea what to sell in this shop, but that is the focus for the month. Find something I can sell and hopefully start making some more money doing something I already do. If you have any ideas, please feel free to send them my way.

Write a novel: My mother always wanted me to be a writer. I always loved to write. It is by no means my greatest passion in life, but everybody is writing books these days. Most of them are memoirs, but I am not quite ready for that just yet. I have thousands of ideas for novels (or plays, or screenplays, or television shows) floating around in my head. This month, I am going to write one down (at least part of one) and see how it goes.

So, there you have it, My Happiness Project plan for July. I will write on this topic again at the end of the month and let you know how it all went! In the meantime, check out the book as well as her website if you want to read more about The Happiness Project.

One thought on “Happiness Is… Getting Creative

  1. Pingback: Happiness Is… Getting Creative: Part II | The Adventures of Brittany Kay

Leave a Reply

