The Return of Television

Network Television’s Fall Premieres start to roll out this week. As if fall wasn’t amazing enough on its own, it coincides with one of my favorite events, fall television. Every year, I go through all of the new shows to determine which ones I will be giving a shot. This year, I will be passing that info onto you. So, here is a list of the shows I am most excited about this fall. New shows, olds favorites, and shows that I had initially written of, but decided to give a second chance to.

New this Season:

10. Marry Me (NBC)

Casey Wilson (Happy Endings) and Ken Marino (Veronica Mars) are getting married. Need I say more?

9. Manhattan Love Story (ABC)

The premise of this new Rom-Com series is that these two people get set-up on a blind date and begin dating and you can hear the thoughts going through their heads throughout. The series is made more interesting by the casting of Jake McDormand (Greek, The Craigslist Killer) and Analeigh Tipton (Crazy, Stupid, Love., Warm Bodies).

8. The Flash (CW)

A(nother) television series based on a comic book character. This one focuses on The Flash and is a spin-off of the CW’s other superhero series, Arrow. Fairly early in season 2 of Arrow we meet young Barry Allen, and I have to say, he is adorable. DC’s answer to Peter Parker (though Barry Allen came first). I am not sure if DC has plans to intertwine these two series with the upcoming Justice League series of films, but I would not want to be left behind if they decide to follow suit with what Marvel is doing.

7. Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt (NBC)

This show stars Ellie Kemper (The Office) as Kimmy Schmidt, a woman who was just rescued from a cult and tries to start over again in New York City. This series is slated to be a midseason replacement, so there is no premiere date set and no official trailer exists just yet, but that has not curbed my excitement for this one.

6. The Whispers (ABC)

This series begins with young children who begin spending time with their imaginary friends. When mysterious incidents begin to occur, it is discovered that there is some sinister force communication with these children. Starring Lily Rabe (American Horror Story), Barry Slone (Revenge) and one of my all time favorites Milo Ventimiglia (Gilmore Girls, Heroes).

5. Wayward Pines (FOX)

This series looks like it is a part of the new trend of a single season series for television. Not quite a mini-series, but with no plans to create a second season. This show has an all-star cast of Academy Award nominees (as well as winner Melissa Leo). A Secret Service agent comes to the small town of Wayward Pines looking for two missing agents and discovers there is more to this town than meets the eye.

4. Last Man on Earth (FOX)

I find the premise of this series very intriguing. So far, it looks like the show will serve as a One-Man Series starring Will Forte (Saturday Night Live, Nebraska). His character is literally, the last man on Earth who is traveling the continent by RV to find any other survivors. It looks like it is going to be hilarious.

3. A to Z (NBC)

After How I Met Your Mother ended last season, fans were teased with the idea of a sequel series. Originally we were going to hear the story from the Mother’s point of view (or so we were lead to believe…). After meeting the mother, I wanted nothing more than more of her. This is the number one reason for my extreme excitement for this new Rom-Com series. Cristin Milioti is charming and lovely and thankfully, NBC is giving us more of her.

2. Gotham (FOX)

A prequel series to the story of Batman. If you know me, you are probably wondering why this series is not number one on my list. This is mostly because I am a little afraid. Don’t get me wrong, I think the previews look amazing and the show seems to be well thought out. There have been a few changes made to the show from the comic book cannon and that makes me nervous for what other changes may be made down the road. I am not usually a stickler, but this is one story that is very important to me, so I remain cautiously excited.

1. Agent Carter (ABC)

This series which is a part of the Marvel Avengers extravaganza that has been happening over the last several years. Of course, this is the first whose titular character is a female. Agent Peggy Carter, who you should remember first meeting in Captain America: The First Avenger, was an agent with S.H.I.E.L.D. during World War II and continued to work for the organization for most of her life. This series takes place during the 1940s. It is still very much in development, but is slated to premiere during Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.‘s winter hiatus with an 8 episode run for its freshman season.

Returning Favorites:

10. Penny Dreadful (Showtime)

Penny Dreadful will not actually return to television until (probably) spring, but I am still very excited about the next season. The series premiered last spring and combines classic Gothic horror characters such as Dr. Victor Frankenstein, Dorian Grey, Mina Harker, and Van Helsing. The show is dark in all of the ways one would expect from a Gothic styled television show. If you missed the first season, October would be the perfect time to catch up.

9. Downton Abbey (PBS)

Always a favorite, especially among those of us who share a penchant for historical fashion. While the fifth season premiere in the UK on Sunday, the US will not see the new episodes until January 4, 2015. Par for the course for those of us who keep up with British television.

8. Bones (FOX)

As far as detective shows go, this is one of few that I have consistently stuck by over the years. The show is very interesting week to week and the cases that span entire seasons are full of twists that keep them interesting with every shocking detail. The characters are all completely wonderful and played by actors with serious chops (and in some cases, much beloved faces). This fall marks the tenth season of this show which will begin with the crew trying to uncover corruption within the US government.

7. The Good Wife (CBS)

I am going to go out on (not too big) a limb and say that The Good Wife is the best show on television. With Juliana Marguilies as the lead character, you know the performances are going to be outstanding. The storyline is always interesting from the legal cases to the political intrigue. The show is so well done and should not be missed.

6. Revenge (ABC)

I have gone back and fourth on this show over the sat few years, but the most recent twist has me overwhelmed with anticipation. At the end of last season, it looked like the driving force of the series thus far (revenge itself) was starting to peter out, but, as in seasons past, the cliffhanger finale leaves you wanting more and desperate for fall.

5. Once Upon A Time (ABC)

Since its premiere three years ago, this has consistently been a favorite of mine. From the creators of Lost, comes the story of everyone’s favorite fairytale characters who find themselves trapped in the modern world. This coming season opens with the characters from Disney’s most recent hit, Frozen. I have to admit, if there were a different storyline coming my excitement for the return of this series would probably be higher. However, the casting has me pretty intrigued. Scott Michael Foster (Greek, Halt and Catch Fire) has become a favorite of mine over the years and I think he will make a fantastic Kristoff, but even more exciting is the much anticipated inclusion of Elizabeth Mitchell (beloved Lost alum) in this series.

4. The Big Bang Theory (CBS)

A lot happened last season on a show that has seen very little change over the last seven years. I am very excited to see how all of the events of the last few episodes will play out throughout this coming season. On top of that, I have found this series to be one of the most entertaining shows on television, especially given my love of superheroes.

3. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)

If you only tuned into the first part of the freshman season of this series, you missed out on the true brilliance that Marvel has put together through this series. The way this show is being woven through the series of Marvel films is unprecedented and very cool to watch. After the events of last spring in both Captain America: The Winter Soldier and the series itself, the team has a lot to do when they come back this fall leading up to next Summer’s Avengers: Age of Ultron.

2. American Horror Story (FX)

This show has been the number one topic of conversation between my family and I for months. Every time a new actor is cast, information is released, or a new teaser is posted they are immediately passed around. This season: Freak Show promises to be the creepiest yet. The cast is fantastic, the characters are interesting, and the setting is right up my alley. Can’t wait the mere weeks until the premiere October 8th? Check out the HBO original series Carnivàle to get you into the spirit.

1. The Mindy Project (FOX)

Last season The Mindy Project surprised me by becoming my favorite show on television. I have always enjoyed the series, but last season really took it to the next level. The show is pointedly funny and just plain fun to watch. It will kick off my fall season when it starts tonight and I couldn’t be happier to have it back.

Shows Deserving of a Second Chance

5. Sleepy Hollow (FOX)

During the first season of Sleepy Hollow, I gave up on the series. I am not really sure why, but I was not very interested in the first handful of episodes. Last summer, I decided to pick it back up based on what I had read about the series and previews I had seen. The show definitely found its rhythm just after I had stopped watching. The combination of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow storyline and the book of Revelation intertwine to create an intriguing tale of the impending apocalypse. After the ending to last season, I cannot wait to see how this is all going to play out.

4. Arrow (CW)

I am still making my way through the episodes of this series that have already aired. Netflix was supposed to release season 2 Sunday, but have pushed back the release date until October 8th, coincidentally, the same day as the season premiere of season 3. Which doesn’t leave much time to binge watch season 2 in time to watch season 3 in real time. The reason I did not originally watch this series was because I thought it was a new take on Robin Hood, which sounds interesting enough, but it did not make the cut at the time. In reality, the series is based on the DC comic book character The Green Arrow. It is also the series that The Flash will spin off of, so if you are into the whole super hero thing (like I am) you should not have written it off in the first place.

3. Bates Motel (A&E)

Not sure why I missed this one the first time around, but now I can’t imagine missing it. The series serves as a prequel to the Alfred Hitchcock film Psycho. Freddie Highmore (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Finding Neverland) plays a young Norman Bates trying to navigate high school while living with his mother Norma as she attempts to open and run a successful motel. Things are as strange in this series as you would expect them to be as they are heading toward the events that will take place during the film. It is a very interesting take on the original story and if that alone doesn’t sell you, you absolutely must see Vera Farmiga’s (Up in the Air) performance as Norma.

2. Parks and Recreation (NBC)

After binge-watching the previous seasons on Netflix this summer, I could not figure out why I did not keep up with the show the first time around. I decided to give it another shot after seeing Guardians of the Galaxy this summer and realizing that Chris Pratt alone was enough to give it a second go. He was not the only reason I kept with it. It is a very funny series that will return Mid-Season for it’s final run.

1. Hannibal (NBC)

From the fascinating mind of Bryan Fuller (Pushing Daisies) comes another horror movie prequel series. This one is based on the book Red Dragon and takes place before the events of Silence of the Lambs. The show focuses on Hannibal Lector, a respected psychiatrist working with the FBI to track down serial killers, and his relationship with criminal profiler Will Graham. This story serves as a sort of origin story to the character AFI has has deemed the number one villain of all time.

Leave a Reply

